Brand Yourself

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 19.31.23
Karwoski, O. (2016, May 23) Brand Yourself. [Screenshot].
As an assignment for CAP 105, we used the site Brand Yourself to optimize the google search results for our name. Before using the site, I was expecting it to score you on the professional nature of your posts. When completing the assignment, I learned that it scores you based on if the result is positive, negative, or a different person. I have a pretty unique name, so only a few of the results weren’t mine and all of them were positive resulting in my score of A-.

In order to improve my score I went through and marked each results as positive, negative, or not mine. I also went though and added other links such as my personal website and my about me page. I then did the list of recommendations for each website. I also boosted my personal website so that it would be one of the first results people saw when they searched me. Overall, I found this website easy to use and I can see how it would be very helpful.

4 thoughts on “Brand Yourself

  1. I also found this website very easy to use. It’s cool to know how searchable someone’s name is– unfortunately, mine I totally bombed because my name is common and it only went up so much after doing the recommendations haha

    Like

  2. Just another reason to name your newborn some weirdly spelt common name, or something bizarro altogether lol! so they can be searchable, and not confused with some bank robber or you know…

    Like

Leave a Reply

